Flip-It Media Cult Zeroes The Football Ramble Yandina Computers Iris Innovations

Blue Noses & Villans

Ron Saunders: Aston Villa Manager 1974-82 / Birmingham City Manager 1982-86


img71 img72


While in charge of Aston Villa, Ron Saunders won the League Cup in 1975 & 1977, and the First Division Championship title in 1980-81, but then resigned from Villa in January 1982, due to a disagreement with the board over his contract. At the time, Villa were mid-table in the First Division but in the quarter-final of the European Cup. His assistant Tony Barton took over, guiding them to European Cup glory four months later.

Surprisingly, he moved straight to Villa's arch-rivals, Birmingham City. They went down in 1984 but he got them back into the top flight at the first attempt. In January 1986, Saunders walked out on struggling Birmingham to take charge of local rivals and fellow strugglers West Bromwich Albion.




Alan Curbishley img74 Birmingham 1979-83  Villa 1983-85



Bobby Thomson Villa 1959-64 Birmingham 1963-68



Bruce Rioch img61 Villa 1969-74 Birmingham 1978-79



Bryan Small img68 Villa 1991-95 Birmingham 1994-95



Cammie Fraser Villa 1962-64 Birmingham 1964-66



Carl Tiler Villa 1995-97 Birmingham 2000-01



Chris Sutton img59 Birmingam 2006 img60 Villa 2006-07



Colin Withers Birmingham 1957-64 Villa 1964-69



Craig Gardner img31 Villa 2005-10 img1 Birmingham 2010-Present



David Geddis img70 Villa 1979-83 img75 Birmingham 1984-87



Dennis Mortimer img46 Villa 1975-85 Birmingham 1986-87



Des Bremner img03 Villa 1979-85 img47 Birmingham 1984-89



Dwight Yorke img53 Villa 1989-98 img52 Birmingham 2004-2005



Emile Heskey img51 Birmingham 2004-06 img50 Villa 2009-Present



Frank Carrodus Villa 1974-79 Birmingham 1982-83



Gary Charles img67 Villa 1994-99 Birmingham 2000-01



Geoff Vowden Birmingham 1964-71 Villa 1970-74



Ivor Linton Villa 1976-82 Birmingham 1983-84



John Sleeuwenhoek img44 Villa 1960-68 Birmingham 1967-71



Kevin Phillips img62 Villa 2005-06 img63 Birmingham 2008-Present



Kevin Poole Villa 1984-87 img65 Birmingham 1997-2001



Lee Jenkins Villa 1978-80 Birmingham 1985-86



Les Sealey img66 Villa 1991-92 Birmingham 1992-93



Liam Ridgwell img41 Villa 2001-07 img42 Birmingham 2007-Present



Mark Jones Villa 1981-84 Birmingham 1984-87



Noel Blake Villa 1979-82 img58 Birmingham 1982-84



Peter Withe Birmingham 1975-77/87-88 img01 Villa 1980-85



Phil Robinson Villa 1986-87 img69 Birmingham 1990-91



Robert Hopkins Villa 1979-83 img48 Birmingham 1982-87/88-91



Ron Wylie Villa 1958-65 img64 Birmingham 1965-70



Stan Lynn img40 Villa 1950-62 Birmingham 1961-66



Tony Hateley img49 Villa 1963-67 Birmingham 1969-71



Tony Morley img02 Villa 1979-84 Birmingham 1984-85



Trevor Hockey Birmingham 1965-71 Villa 1973-74